Fill in your email to stay informed of my news!



Francesco D’Urso (Ruffano – 1985)

Francesco graduated from the Monopoli Conservatory, the Haute École de Musique de Genève, the Instituto pareggiato of Aosta and the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik of Trossingen, under the direction of Giuseppe Guida, Andrea Bandini, Stefano Viola and Abbie Conant respectively.
He has followed numerous advanced courses with Andrea Conti, Vincent Lepape, Christian Lindberg, Jay Friedman, Rex Martin, Nitzan Haros, Toby Oft, Jorgen van Rijen and Vinko Globokar.


In 2016 he obtained his Master’s degree in Music Pedagogy at the Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences in Switzerland, where he was able to perfect his skills with Stanley Clark.


Francesco D’Urso teaches trombone at the Geneva Conservatory of Music for the “MusicEnsemble/Meyrin” project (coordinated by Maestro Domingo Hindoyan and sponsored by Maestro Gustavo Dudamel) as well as at the Multisite Music School (Canton of Vaud, Switzerland).


Between 2011 and 2017, he was trombone teacher and brass coordinator at the Geneva International Summer Academy. In August 2018, he also participated as a teacher at the orchestral camp of the Lucerne Festival and was invited as trombone coach at the summer camp of the Société Cantonale des Musiques Vaudoises in Saint Croix (Vaud, Switzerland) in 2019.


He has performed and worked with numerous institutions including the Suisse Romande Orchestra, the National Orchestra of the Academy of Santa Cecilia in Rome, the RAI National Symphony Orchestra of Turin, the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Royal Theatre of Turin, Contrechamps Orchestra in Geneva, the Zermatt Festival Orchestra and the Vocal and Instrumental Ensemble of Lausanne These were under the direction of prestigious maestros including Michel Corboz, Joshua Weilerstein, Heinz Holliger, Marek Janowski, Jesus Lopez-Cobos, Yutaka Sado, Peter Maxwell Davies, Alexander Vedernikov, Hannu Lintu, Ton Koopman etc…


Since 2008, he has collaborated with the Sinfonietta Orchestra of Lausanne, and since 2011 has been performing regularly as first and second trombone with the Chamber Orchestra of Lausanne, with whom he has taken part in several tours (Switzerland, Spain, France, Italy and Azerbaijan).

His experience of period instruments (the sackbut) has led him to perform at the Lausanne Opera under the direction of maestros Diego Fasolis and Ottavio Dantone who invited him in 2018 to join the tour of the Academia Bizantina de Ravenna in Oslo (Norway).


Since October 2016, he has been principal trombone with the Geneva Chamber Orchestra under the artistic direction of Maestro Arie van Beek.


In October 2019 he was invited to the Geneva Brass Festival as soloist with the Geneva Chamber Orchestra performing Erik Larsson’s Concertino and Corrado Maria Saglietti’s Suite, the latter on alto trombone under the direction of Philippe Bach at the Studio Ernest-Ansermet in Geneva. Similarly, in March 2020, he appeared as a soloist with the Harmonie Nautique de Genève under Eric Haegi in a performance of Ferdinand David’s Concertino and Corrado Maria Saglietti’s Concertone (world premiere) at the Victoria Hall in Geneva.


Founder and administrator of the Moya Trombones ensemble, with whom he has performed or given masterclasses in France, Hungary, Italy, Switzerland and Germany, in prestigious settings including the Paris Conservatory, Lille Trombone Festival, Master Brass, Geneva Brass Festival, Lausanne Trombone Festival, Internazional Posaune Symposium in Stuttgart, Freudenstadt Festival, Aosta Conservatory, Fiati Festival of the Novarre Conservatory…


Various works are dedicated to Francesco D’Urso: “Concertone” for trombone and wind orchestra by Corrado Maria Saglietti, Movement for trombone, string orchestra and percussion by Alexandre Mastrangelo, Incredulae Rosae for solo trombone by Domenico Turi, RuGva (solo trombone) and Umat for trombone, string quartet and jazz trio by Massimo Pinca.


In 2015 he produced – in collaboration with the Difem Music Publisher – his first album entitled “Stella”, dedicated to his daughter.


Francesco D’Urso and the Moya Trombones are Vincent Bach artists and ambassadors for the René Hagmann® systems, dedicated to trombone cylinders and developed by Servette-Music in Geneva.







ALBUM : Paradise Bone – 2021

We are delighted to have this opportunity to offer an original repertoire, both classical and original: by playing arrangements of “hits“ from the French trombone repertoire (Ropartz and Defaye), but also aiming to be more eclectic with pieces such as “Umat“ by Massimo Pinca, for string quartet, jazz trio and trombone, or “Tromtchi“ by Khaled Arman. This particular piece takes us in a journey from India to the West with the magnificent Kabul ensemble accompanying a particularly virtuoso trombone The uniqueness of this project is its strength: by bringing together musicians from very different countries (Afghanistan, Armenia, Bulgaria, Chile, France, Italy, Spain and Switzerland), each one brings his or her cultural background and musical experiences.


  1. 01 My Sweet Sicily Three Pieces for trombone and piano 0:46
  2. 02 Medieval Mood Three Pieces for trombone and piano 0:45
  3. 03 Infinitamente Three Pieces for trombone and piano 0:45
  4. 04 Tango Suite per trombone contralto e quartetto d’archi 0:45
  5. 05 Canzone Suite per trombone contralto e quartetto d’archi 0:46
  6. 06 Speedy Suite per trombone contralto e quartetto d’archi 0:45
  7. 07 Mouvement pour trombone Mouvement pour trombone, orchestre à cordes et percussion 0:45
  8. 08 RuGva Impromptu per sacqueboute e percussioni Francesco D'Urso 0:45
  9. 09 Incredulae Rosae per trombo Francesco D'Urso 0:45
  10. 10 Pièce pour trombone et looper Francesco D'Urso 0:45
  11. 11 Stella per trombone solo Francesco D'Urso 0:45

ALBUM : Stella – 2015

… dedicated to my daughter, this album contains modern compositions covering various musical styles, from the neo-romantic pieces of Antonello Mastrosilvestri to the “Pièce pour Trombone et Looper” in funky, reggae and jazz rock styles of Grégoire Devaux, then giving way to experimental music, including Massimo Pinca’s “RuGva”, a contemporary impromptu on the frenetic rhythm of the “Pizzica” (played with sackbut). During the making of this album, I had the immense good fortune to be able to work in close collaboration with all the composers, who assisted me in all phases of this project.

Francesco D’ Urso









Take advantage of a personalized teaching according to your level and to your schedule.
Private course, in group, or in summer camp, find below all the forms and/ or schools in which I give courses.




Francesco D’Urso and the Moya Trombones are Vincent Bach artists and ambassadors for the René Hagmann® systems,
dedicated to trombone cylinders and developed by Servette-Music in Geneva.




For any information request or album order, contact me via the form below. I will answer you as soon as possible.